Sunday, December 24, 2017

Four Seasons in Japanese

The names of the four seasons in Japanese are natsu, haru, fuyu and aki.
  • natsu
  • haru
  • fuyu
  • aki

A single "season" is called a kisetsu 季節. And the word for the "four seasons" in Japanese is the Japanese number "four" followed by the kanji for "season," see: shiki 四季.

Sometimes, shunkashuutou 春夏秋冬 can be used to refer to the four seasons, or to each or every one of them. This word would be a "four-character idiom," yojijukugo 四字熟語.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Leave your komento コメント in this posuto ポスト of this burogu ブログ with your questions about Japanese, doubts or whatever!

All comments are moderated and won't show up until approved. Spam, links to illegal websites, and inappropriate content won't be published.